American Academy of Arts And Sciences elects 3 UMN faculty to 2017 class

Gunnar Hobbie Zuk

UMN faculty Megan Gunnar, Sarah Hobbie and Marlene Zuk were all elected into the 2017 class of AAAS members.

Today, three professors from the University of Minnesota were elected into the the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies.

UMN faculty that have been elected include:

  • Megan Gunnar; Regents Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor and director of the Institute of Child Development in the College of Education and Human Development. Gunnar is one of the nation’s leading researchers in child development and developmental psychobiology. Her work focuses on understanding how stress early in life “gets under the skin” to shape the body’s stress response systems and neurobehavioral development. 

  • Sarah Hobbie; Distinguished McKnight University Professor  in Ecology, Evolution and Behavior and a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Hobbie investigates the impact of human activity in urban environments; in particular, the causes of urban water pollution. Hobbie is also a principal investigator at Cedar Creek Ecosystem Science Reserve where she collaborates on research related to understanding the ecological consequences of diverse human-caused environmental changes.

  • Marlene Zuk; professor of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior. Her research focuses on emerging questions in behavioral ecology and evolutionary biology. Zuk’s lab uses invertebrate systems to study the evolution of mating behavior and secondary sexual characters in natural populations. Zuk also serves as the Associate Dean for Faculty in the College of Biological Sciences.

"The much-deserved election of Professors Gunnar, Hobbie and Zuk to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is a remarkable testament to their individual groundbreaking research and teaching, and to each of their life's work," said University of Minnesota President Eric Kaler, a 2014 AAAS inductee. "It also is a wonderful reflection on the excellence of our University's entire faculty and staff."

Gunnar, Hobbie and Zuk join 58 previous and current members from the University of Minnesota.

The AAAS 2017 class includes 228 new members that include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business and philanthropic leaders.  Members include winners of the Pulitzer Prize and the Wolf Prize; MacArthur Fellows; Fields Medalists; Presidential Medal of Freedom and National Medal of Arts recipients; and Academy Award, Grammy Award, Emmy Award, and Tony Award winners. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 7, 2017, in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The full list of the 237th class of new members is available at  

Media Contacts

After hours line
University Public Relations
(612) 293-0831
Public Relations
University Public Relations main line
University Public Relations
(612) 624-5551
Public Relations
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities