Golden Gopher student-athletes honored

Male and female athlete of the year winners Tristan Duran and Kaitlyn Long

The men's gymnastics, women's track & field, and softball teams highlighted the recent 2018 Golden Goldys ceremony, taking home eight awards in the annual event recognizing both the athletic and academic achievements of student-athletes.

Men's gymnastics earned the men’s team of the year, coach of the year (Mike Burns), athlete of the year (Tristan Duran), and rookie of the year (Shane Wiskus). Finishing second at the NCAA  championships, the men's gymnastics team took home 96 podium finishes over the course of the season and 36 event titles.

Duran, was a nominee of the CGA Gymnast of the Year and won the Big Ten championship on the parallel bars, while Wiskus was named the Big Ten Gymnast and Freshman of the Year. Male breakthrough went to football's Tyler Johnson.

Softball took home the women's team of the year after an outstanding 2017 season. The Golden Gophers won the Big Ten regular season title, the program's first since 1991. They also won the tournament championship for a NCAA automatic bid.

Kaitlyn Long took home the female athlete of the year award, while Temi Ogunrinde was awarded the female breakthrough athlete of the year. In just one year with the Gophers, Long became the NCAA and Big Ten indoor weight throw champion, and Ogunrinde went on to become the Big Ten champion in the hammer throw. 

For the second straight year, the Golden Goldys also recognized the Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients. Basketball's Carlie Wagner and track & field’s Derek Wiebke were recognized for their academic and athletic excellence.
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities