, , , , ?>

Gophers Win First Big Ten Title in 20 Years

The men's tennis team with its Big Ten championship trophy.

The U of M men's tennis team captured a share of its first Big Ten regular-season title in 20 years, defeating No. 27 Northwestern, 4-3, at the Baseline Tennis Center on April 19. The Senior Day victory improved the Gophers' record to 19-6 and upped their conference ledger to 10-1, tying them with third-ranked Illinois and No. 11 Ohio State atop the league standings. 

The win also completed a perfect home season; Minnesota went 12-0 at the Baseline Tennis Center. The Gophers last won a Big Ten championship in 1995 when they won their fourth title in a row. They now have nine total regular-season championships. 

Counting the recently completed Big Ten Tournament, Minnesota has now won 20 matches on the season, matching its highest win total since 2003. The team won 19 matches in 2009 and 2011. 

The 23rd-ranked Gophers received an at-large bid for the 2015 NCAA Tournament, which was announced April 28. The Gophers will play No. 36-ranked Princeton in the first round at 9 a.m. May 8 in Charlottesville, Virginia. Should they advance, they would take on either No. 3 overall seed and regional host Virginia or St. John's May 9 at 2 p.m. It will be Minnesota’s 25th all-time appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities