A night for Golden Goldys

Brett Pfarr and Sarah Wilhite holding trophies.

The University of Minnesota volleyball and men's basketball teams highlighted the 2017 Golden Goldys, the annual awards ceremony held May 1 at TCF Bank Stadium. The pair of teams took home seven Goldys awards as Intercollegiate Athletics recognized both the athletic and academic achievements of its more than 700 student-athletes.

Volleyball's Sarah Wilhite had her name called twice as the female athlete of the year and breakthrough athlete of the year. Freshman Alexis Hart was named the female rookie of the year, while volleyball and head coach Hugh McCutcheon was named women's team coach of the year. 

Men's basketball was named the men's team of the year, Richard Pitino was named the men's coach of the year, and Amir Coffey was named the male rookie of the year. 

Wrestling's Brett Pfarr was named the male athlete of the year, while track's Derek Wiebke was named the male breakthrough athlete of the year. 

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities