Sandra Ulsaker Wiese elected Chair of the U of M Alumni Association

Macnamara Alumni Center


Sandy Ulsaker Wiese has been elected chair of the University of Minnesota Alumni Association’s Board of Directors for 2017-18. Wiese is the Senior Vice President of Government Affairs and Business Development at Data Recognition Corporation (DRC), a Minnesota-based company that provides K–12 and adult education products and services, as well as survey services across the country. Wiese has served on the board of directors for 11 years and is the 81st chair in the organization’s 113-year history.

“I’m honored to serve as the chair of the Alumni Association’s Board of Directors,” said Wiese, B.A.’81.  “University of Minnesota alumni are a powerful ally for this great institution and I look forward to keeping the alumni message strong and clear.”

Wiese has previously served in senior-level positions in corporate law and government affairs at two Fortune 500 companies, and worked in state and federal government. In addition to her bachelor of arts in political science from the College of Liberal Arts (1981) at the University of Minnesota, Wiese earned a juris doctorate from William Mitchell College of Law (1984). She is an avid Gopher sports fan, having served in the past as a member of the Athletics Advisory Board and as a long-time football and basketball season ticket holder.

“I’m thrilled to have Sandy’s leadership as chair of the board.” said Lisa Lewis, president and CEO of the Alumni Association. “Sandy is a consistent, strong supporter of the University of Minnesota in many ways, but especially in advocacy. Her expertise will strengthen the Alumni Association and the alumni voice.”

Wiese officially assumed her role on July 1. Outgoing board chair, Daniel McDonald, presented her with the gavel at the Alumni Association’s Annual Celebration on April 7, 2017.

Board members joining the U of M Alumni Association Board of Directors are:

  • Pat Duncanson, ’83 B.A., Mapleton, MN, At-Large Director
  • Trish Palermo, Minnesota Student Association President
  • Rachel Cardwell, Professional Student Government President

The following were re-elected to serve a second term:

  • Roshini Rajkumar, ’97 J.D., Minneapolis, MN, At-Large Director
  • Doug Huebsch, ’85 B.S., Perham MN, Geographic Council Director
  • Laura Moret, ’76 B.A., ’81 M.B.A., Edina, MN, Collegiate Council Director
  • Tony Wagner, ’96 B.S., Minnetonka, MN, At-Large Director

About the University of Minnesota Alumni Association
Founded in 1904, the University of Minnesota Alumni Association connects alumni with each other, supports student success and advances the University of Minnesota. The Alumni Association advocates for the University and its alumni with a credible, independent, and collaborative voice.  Members make Alumni Association programs strong and ensure that all 477,000 alumni of the Twin Cities campus share a sense of belonging to our vibrant global community of learners, makers and doers. Learn more at or call 612-624-2323 or 800-862-5867.

Media Contacts

University Public Relations main line
University Public Relations
(612) 624-5551
Public Relations
Samantha Massaglia
Alumni Association
Public Relations
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities