University of Minnesota announces scholarship program with Raise.Me

Students at select high schools in Minnesota have a new opportunity to earn “micro-scholarships” to the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. University of Minnesota Twin Cities has launched a partnership with the online scholarship platform, on which high school students can earn micro-scholarships from UMN-Twin Cities for their achievements, such as strong grades, rigorous classes, or leadership positions.

Through this pilot effort,  UMN-Twin Cities is continuing to enhance its access to the U of M and awareness of the great value students receive from its world-class education. As part of our commitment to  access for Minnesota students, we are targeting this outreach campaign at Minnesota high schools who serve high numbers of low-income students through the Federal free and reduced lunch program.

Continuing to focus on access for Minnesota students is key to the University’s enrollment efforts,” says Rachelle Hernandez, associate vice provost for enrollment management and director of admissions. “Supporting student success is at the heart of what we do at the University of Minnesota.  This platform recognizes student success behaviors in high school and supports their continued success in college.”

Students can create a free profile on the Raise.Me website and log specific accomplishments that are each tied to micro-scholarships. For example, eligible students can earn $300 for earning a B or better in an Advanced Placement English class or $150 for serving as the team leader of Science Olympiad. Admissions officials expect the overall scholarship amounts for eligible students to range from about $300 to a maximum of $8,000 over four years. The goal is to give students a head start in exploring colleges and in seeing their scholarship aid potential.

In order to receive scholarships, students must also apply to  UMN-Twin Cities and be selected for admission. Admission decisions are based on a holistic review of each student’s application.

Eligible Schools:

  • Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City High School
  • Agape High School
  • Aitkin High School
  • Alc Creative Arts High School
  • Alden-Conger High School
  • Apollo Senior High
  • Austin Senior High
  • Badger High School
  • Bagley High School
  • Bemidji Senior High
  • Bertha-Hewitt High School
  • Bigfork High School
  • Blackduck High School
  • Blue Earth Area Senior High
  • Bold Senior High
  • Braham Area High School
  • Brooklyn Center High School School
  • Browerville High School
  • Butterfield High School
  • Campbell-Tintah High School
  • Cass Lake-Bena High School School
  • Cedar Mountain High School
  • Central High School (St. Paul)
  • Cherry High School
  • Chokio-Alberta High School
  • City Academy                       
  • Clearbrook-Gonvick High School
  • Climax High School
  • Columbia Heights Senior High School
  • Community of Peace Academy High School School
  • Como Park Senior High School
  • Cromwell-Wright High School
  • Crosby-Ironton High School
  • Crossroads Alternative High School
  • Deer River High School
  • Denfeld Senior High
  • E.C.H.O. Charter School
  • Eagle Valley-Watkins High School
  • East Central Senior High School
  • Eden Valley High School
  • Edison Senior High School
  • El Colegio Charter School
  • FAIR School Downtown
  • Fairview Alternative High School
  • Faribault Senior High
  • Fosston High School
  • Frazee High School
  • Fridley Senior High
  • Goodridge High School
  • Granada-Huntley East Chain High School
  • Grygla High School
  • Harbor City International Charter
  • Harding Senior High School
  • Hendricks High School
  • Henning High School
  • Heritage Academy of Science & Technology
  • Herman High School
  • High School for Recording Arts
  • Higher Ground Academy
  • Highland Park Senior High
  • Hill City High School
  • Hinckley-Finlayson High School
  • Hmong College Prep Academy High School
  • HOPE Community Academy
  • Humboldt High School
  • Indus High School
  • Insight School of Minnesota
  • International Academy – Leap
  • Jennings Experiential High School
  • John A. Johnson Senior High School
  • Kelliher High School
  • John F. Kennedy Senior High
  • Lake of the Woods High School
  • Lakes Area Charter School
  • Lanesboro High School
  • LaPorte High School
  • Learning for Leadership Charter School
  • Lincoln International School
  • Long Prairie-Grey Senior High
  • Lyle High School
  • MACCRAY Senior High        
  • Madelia High School
  • Mahnomen High School
  • Mankato East Senior High
  • Marshall County Central High
  • McGregror High School
  • Menahga High School
  • Mesabi East High School
  • Metro Deaf School
  • Metro Tech Academy
  • Milaca High School High
  • Minneapolis College Preparatory
  • Minneapolis Urban League St Ac
  • Minnesota Internship Center Charter
  • Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf
  • Minnesota State Academy for the Blind
  • Minnesota Transitions Tech High School
  • Minnesota Virtual High School
  • Mounds View Area Learning Center
  • Mountain Iron-Buhl High School
  • Mountain Lake High School
  • MTS High School
  • Nashwauk-Keewatin High School
  • Nevis High School
  • New Century Charter School
  • Norman County East High School
  • Norman County West High School
  • North Community High Academy Arts
  • North Community High School (Minneapolis)
  • North High School (St. Paul)
  • North Star Academy
  • North Woods High School
  • Northeast Metro 916 Area Learning
  • Northeast Range High School
  • Northland High School
  • Northome High School
  • Northwest Passage High School
  • Ogilvie High School
  • Onamia High School
  • Open World Learning High School
  • Paladin Academy
  • Park Center IB World School
  • Park Rapids Senior High
  • Patrick Henry Senior High School
  • Pelican Rapids High School
  • Phoenix Learning Center-MN
  • Pillager High School
  • Pine City High School
  • Pine River-Backus  High School
  • Prairie Seeds Academy
  • Red Lake County Central High School
  • Red Lake High School
  • Renville County West Senior
  • Richfield Senior High
  • Riverbend Academy
  • Rivers Edge Academy
  • Riverway Learning Community Charter School
  • Robbinsdale Cooper Senior
  • Rochester STEM Academy
  • Roosevelt Senior High
  • Rothsay High School
  • Round Lake-Brewster High School
  • Sage Academy Charter School
  • Sebeka High School
  • Sleepy Eye High School
  • South Ridge High School
  • South High School (Minneapolis)
  • Spring Lake Park Senior High
  • Springfield High School
  • St. James High School
  • Staples Motley Senior High
  • Step Academy Charter School
  • Tracy High School
  • Treknorth High School
  • Tri-County High School
  • Twin Cities Academy High
  • Ubah Medical Academy
  • Underwood High School
  • United South Central High
  • Upsala High School
  • Verndale High School
  • Voyageurs Expeditionary High School
  • Wadena-Deer Creek Senior High
  • Walker-Hackensack-Akeley High School
  • Walter H Maginnis High School
  • Washburn Senior High
  • Washington Technology Magnet
  • Watershed High School
  • Waubun High School
  • Wellstone International High School
  • Westbrook-Walnut Grove High School
  • Willmar Senior High School

In addition to this pilot program for students enrolled in the high schools listed here, the University of Minnesota is also offering a micro-scholarship program for new incoming freshmen enrolling in its College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences

The University of Minnesota Duluth also offers scholarships through Raise.Me.

Media Contacts

After hours line
University Public Relations
(612) 293-0831
Public Relations
University Public Relations main line
University Public Relations
(612) 624-5551
Public Relations
Lacey Nygard
University Public Relations
Public Relations
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities