University of Minnesota honored with four 2015 AAAS Fellows

Three faculty and one administrator at the University of Minnesota have been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers, and recognizes scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The newly elected AAAS Fellows from the University of Minnesota represent two university colleges and the provost’s office and were chosen in four AAAS sections:

Carla Carlson, special consultant, Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Elected in the Section on General Interest in Science and Engineering for seminal and distinguished contributions in fostering engagement between academic researchers, policy makers, students and the public on issues of sustainability, particularly in agricultural and biological sciences.

Jerry David Cohen, professor, Horticultural Science, College of Food, Agricultural & Natural Sciences
Elected in the Biological Sciences for innovative contributions to understanding auxin metabolism in relation to plant growth and for the development of sensitive analytical approaches to elucidating complex biological processes.

Martin Greven, professor, School of Physics and Astronomy, College of Science and Engineering
Elected in the Section on Physics for establishing a stellar record in growth and perfection of high quality crystals of oxide superconductors, enabling experiments leading to important advances in the field.

Philip Gordon Pardey, professor, Applied Economics, College of Food, Agricultural & Natural Resource Sciences
Elected in the Section on Agriculture, Food and Renewable Resources for distinguished contributions to the field of agricultural economics, with particular emphasis on the economics of innovation, agricultural productivity and economic development.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874.

About AAAS
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine ( and Science Signaling ( AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more.

Media Contacts

After hours line
University Public Relations
(612) 293-0831
Public Relations
University Public Relations main line
University Public Relations
(612) 624-5551
Public Relations
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities