News Release

University statement on appointees to the Governor’s Task Force on Academic Health at the University of Minnesota

Ettinger standing outside, near large columns on campus

Earlier today, Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan announced appointments to the Governor’s Task Force on Academic Health at the University of Minnesota. U of M Interim President Jeff Ettinger issued the following statement about this news: 

Interim President Jeff Ettinger

“We are incredibly thankful to Governor Walz and Lt. Governor Flanagan for establishing the Task Force on Academic Health at the University of Minnesota and for their understanding of the importance of academic health to Minnesota. Their leadership, along with that of former Minnesota Department of Health Commissioner Jan Malcolm and legislative leaders, gives me confidence the Task Force will contribute significantly to this important discussion. In particular, we appreciate the appointments of Dr. Penny Wheeler, retired CEO of Allina Health and a member of the University’s Board of Regents, and Dr. Jakub Tolar, vice president for Clinical Affairs and dean of the Medical School, to represent the University. We’re also delighted to see Connie Delaney, dean of the U of M School of Nursing, was selected to serve on the Task Force for her expertise in health professions education and health care workforce issues.

“Academic health has been proven to improve quality, accessibility and equity. It focuses on primary care, advances innovative treatments and cures, and trains the health professionals Minnesota and our region depend on. We look forward to shining a light on the leadership and expertise the University’s comprehensive health sciences schools, programs and partnerships provide across our state.

“The Governor’s Task Force is not just about continuing the University’s long history in educating, researching and providing the highest quality of health care well into the future. This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to develop a path to provide world-class health care to all Minnesotans.